Fight or Flight

Fight or Flight…

Fear binds me close with suffocating hold

Heart thumping in my chest with echoed beat

Squeezed tight my halting breath grates sharp and cold

My struggling soul enveloped quite complete

Nerves jangling loud like mocking jailor’s keys

My self-made chains pull taut in fresh alarm

Tied up in knots, unable to break free

Imprisoned by my own strait-jacket arms

But life cannot be lived in such a state

Forever trapped in fear and constant fight

I know I must release this death-shroud weight

Stop trying to control with all my might

I need to learn to trust life can be kind

And flee this taunting prison of my mind…

4 thoughts on “Fight or Flight

  1. I suspect, Ruth, that you have enjoyed far more successes than you allow yourself credit for. Your blog speaks from your Essence. Trust your Self, my dear. She’s more reliable than you think! 😉 xoxoM

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

