A-Z Challenge: Z is for Zebra Crossing

zebra-crossing

Z is for Zebra Crossing…

The traditional British pedestrian crossing is a zebra crossing, so called because of the alternating black and white stripes. The orange ball light on top of the striped pole next to it is called a ‘Belisha Beacon’.

This year for my Blogging from A-Z Challenge I’ve decided to keep it super-simple, and stick close to home with a straightforward agenda. I tend to post lots of local London images anyway, so my aim is to post at least one new (as in taken recently, and not posted before) photograph each day, taking us on a whistle-stop A-Z tour of Local Leytonstone Life; simple snapshot images of ordinary everyday things around me that capture my attention, yet don’t take me out of my daily routine too much…

6 thoughts on “A-Z Challenge: Z is for Zebra Crossing

  1. Sonnische April 30, 2017 / 2:54 pm

    Neat! I learn a lot following your blog and its informative photos! I’m wondering if I could do the same with our little town of Pocono Pines?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth April 30, 2017 / 4:17 pm

      Might be fun to try… 🙂

      Like

  2. Capt Jill May 1, 2017 / 2:54 am

    Strange, but I never heard it was called that before (but sure makes sense), the light’s name is even better -do you know why they called it that?

    Like

    • Ruth May 1, 2017 / 8:53 am

      I believe they were named after the politician who was Minister of Transport when they were first introduced back in the 1930s… 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Capt Jill May 3, 2017 / 11:23 pm

        Thanks for the info Ruth. I never even knew they had a specific name, just thought of them as round lightbulbs. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

