Daily Prompt: Panicked

As a life-long people-pleaser I often feel panicked at the thought of having upset or offended anyone, afraid they won’t like me any more.

I worry beyond the point of reason when it comes to conflict, tying myself up in knots in an attempt to soothe and salve and ameliorate scenarios and situations wherever possible.

I find myself fretting to the nth degree whenever conversations threaten to develop into difficulties; to my dismay I hear myself backing off and backing down at almost every critical opportunity.

I’m feeling my levels of stress hormones rising even writing about it, and it makes me unfathomably sad to know how deeply my fragile sense of self-worth is still so utterly dependent on the external approval of others…

Daily Prompt: Panicked

8 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Panicked

  1. The Photonomad May 4, 2017 / 6:50 pm

    I feel like that sometimes. I turn my mind to other, more pleasing and interesting thoughts. Diversionary tactics!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mycreatorscreation May 4, 2017 / 10:23 pm

    You may not want to do this, but what I found worked for me was knowing the bible and living by it. I use to feel very insecure, but by living according to the things I found within the word, “surprisingly” I now have others who tell me I seem very confident……and that was the only major change I made in my life. There is only One you need to please!!.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Tricia May 5, 2017 / 9:20 pm

      Indeed, I’ve found the more I identify myself through God’s love for me, the less I care what others think. Staying focused on that is the key though which I often stray from.

      Liked by 1 person

      • mycreatorscreation May 6, 2017 / 12:13 am

        You’re on the right track. We all stray, but thanks to God, He knows just how weak we are. Each time I stray I ask His forgiveness, and for His strength to keep going. The next time I fall, I ask Him to once again help me. It’s a day by day, minute by minute, second by second relationship, so don’t be too hard on yourself. He readily forgives us, but we are the ones that continually beat ourselves up……I pray that God will grant us both His perfect strength to keep going to the end.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Sonnische May 5, 2017 / 1:15 am

    The 7th Step Prayer of AA asks, “Relieve me of the bondage of self” and I like that. That excruciating self focus with fear of offending or of having offended is awful. I know it first hand as you do.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Tricia May 5, 2017 / 9:21 pm

    I hear you, I suffer from this too, I think many women do.

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

