Hashtag Confused…

I don’t do Twitter (or Instagram, or Snapchat for that matter) and I must admit I’m not really sure what it’s actually used for – well, apart from bragging (or whining) on a daily basis about the wonders and woes of being US President – so this whole hashtag thing really confuses me. I mean, what is a hashtag for? I understand it’s a hash symbol (#), and it’s a tag like tagging someone in FaceBook except it’s a word not a person, therefore ‘hashtag’. I get that bit. But WHY?

What does Twitter actually do? My FaceBook account is bad enough – I have a personal profile shared only with friends and family, where I can post photographs and update my status and (through my newsfeed) catch up with other friends who also have FaceBook. And I use the term ‘friends’ to mean people I already know, as historically I’ve been relatively private about what I share with the world at large. It’s just a bit of fun, an added extra on top of other forms of communication between me and my real-life friends and family.

And now I have my blog here on WordPress, which is almost entirely virtual, and very much a public online space for me to share my poems and photographs and random musings on life. Through our individual blogs we are all seeking to make connections and build virtual friendships with other bloggers who we may then follow and who may also follow us. Strangers have become virtual friends. But to me there still appears to be a personal investment inherent in blogging that somehow seems to be missing in Twitter.

If blogging is more about the quality of personal interactions then tweeting to me seems to be all about the quantity – how many tweets, how many followers, however tenuous the links? Am I missing something? Am I missing out by giving Twitter a wide berth? Please help educate this social media dinosaur seeking enlightenment – hashtag confused… 🙂

 

 

7 thoughts on “Hashtag Confused…

  1. Dermott Hayes May 18, 2017 / 11:07 pm

    I couldn’t agree with you more, Ruth, but this is the chatter age. I have a Twitter and a Facebook profile. I’ve always believed in holding my counsel until I feel there’s something worth saying. That’s not how the world operates, anymore. Everyone has an opinion and worse, everyone believes their opinion must be heard. The end result is a cacophony of nonsense with little regard for facts, logic or even knowledge. These days, WordPress is where I write and express myself yet even in WP, a forum where one expects a sharing of views and critiques, the chatter people have got to me and I’m far more circumspect about offering an opinion to anyone because another aspect of the chatter class is the complete inability to engage in rational discussion or what was once known as ‘a polite exchange of views.’ Sorry for going on but you touched a spot there.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Ruth May 18, 2017 / 11:16 pm

      It’s definitely the chatter age, and I think that’s maybe why I’m feeling so resistant to Twitter – thanks for the input, Demott! 🙂

      Like

  2. Sonnische May 19, 2017 / 1:07 am

    Well, I have avoided Facebook because as a mental health care provider, I don’t want to be intruded upon. I’ve been stalked by disturbed people and it’s awful. Plus, in general I didn’t think it was prudent to be “friends” with clients. On Twitter I have the anonymity I need while still connecting with real life friends and acquaintances, commenting on current events, cheering righteous folks on, and making new connections with likeminded folk out there. I also like to watch a political speech and see what the people I follow (journalists, politicians, other public figures) on Twitter are saying about it in real time. I also post photos on Instagram and when I closed my New York office, I stayed connected with colleagues, certain clients and even some family on LinkedIn. I’m no spring chicken, but these social media things work for me!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Ruth May 19, 2017 / 9:16 am

      Hmmm… I guess I’d need to try each of them out for a while to see what works best for me – but being a bit of an introvert I’m a bit wary of social media overload, I already feel a bit crowded out at times with only two platforms to manage 🙂

      Like

  3. Relax... May 19, 2017 / 4:46 am

    Twitter *communication* is the ultimate in laziness. I am only surprised that more than DT and middle schoolers use it, to tell you the truth.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Cee Neuner May 19, 2017 / 4:33 pm

    I basically only blog. I have a FB account but the only thing I use it for is to keep track of my sister. I do let my blog post be listed on it, so I get a little activity. I don’t understand all the hoopla over the other things either.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Kat June 11, 2017 / 12:00 pm

    I have had a Twitter account for a few years now and I still have not mastered it. I forget about it a lot and I’m hopeless at hashtags. I keep hoping something will click.

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

