Daily Prompt: Unmoored

I’m not one of life’s natural drifters happy to be carried along by the prevailing current, wherever it may take me. I like the feeling of being anchored, emotionally and physically, to my mooring of choice at any given time, sheltered within a safe harbour. I enjoy the familiar, the habitual, the everyday rituals of time and place that hold me in a recognisable pattern of my own making.

If one part of my life is unsettled and becomes detached, I hold tight to the rest until the unknown becomes comfortably known again. When too many things break free from their moorings all at the same time and I find myself all at sea I batten down the hatches and sit tight through the darkness of the storm as best I can. And once calm returns I emerge blinking into the light, salvage whatever I can from the wreckage all around me, and set out to find myself a new anchor point in life… πŸ™‚

Daily Prompt: Unmoored

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Unmoored

  1. I was thinking along these lines yesterday, aware that I was in a fairly comfortable routine and also aware that an unsettling disruption of my norm could come at any time. Then we went to the post office and found a letter saying we hadn’t paid a tax bill (with penalty fees) despite having our canceled check, meaning I have to make calls on Monday to try to straighten it out. Such is life! Great post, Ruth.

    Liked by 2 people

Let me know what you think...

