Daily Prompt: Adrift

Unrelenting city living leaves me feeling uncomfortably adrift. I grew up in a rural farming community on the North East coast of Scotland, where the cycle of life continued with reassuring regularity. Each year had four distinct seasons, and each season played its own clear part in that cycle.

I invariably find myself searching out nature within the city, knowing almost instinctively when and where to look for those welcome signs of seasonal change, needing something of that old life to ground me and keep me anchored to the living earth beneath my feet.

Without regularly grounding myself in nature I find myself hopelessly adrift in a soul-destroying never-ending tread-mill world of brick and concrete and paving slabs, artificially lit 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 52 weeks of the year, year in year out with no respite…

Daily Prompt: Adrift

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Adrift

  1. Ruth, how I identify with your attitudes toward city living. We moved out of New York City (Brooklyn) last summer and made our rural Pennsylvania place our full time home, and while I miss all the cool restaurants and stores, and of course the culture, I don’t miss the dirty snow, the subways, the honking horns, the crowded sidewalks, the clogged one-way streets, the pollution, and the anxious energy. Yesterday we saw the new Richard Gere film, “Norman” which was truly excellent. It was set in Manhattan and reminded me how much I hated the winters and the crowdedness of it all.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I live in the country and hope I can remain here. I see up to 11 deer pretty well every evening in my back yard. There are rabbits and squirrels. Frogs croak in the swamp and birds are nesting in the trees. When mosquitoes get too bad, I will sit in my screened in veranda. No restaurants, theatre or other such luxuries nearby.

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

