Who Am I?

Who Am I?

Identity in crisis, I feel lost

Confusion reigns as childhood truths change form

Disintegrate as barriers are crossed

And old horizons, stretched, create new norms

Beliefs I’ve held for years emerge as lies

Distorted falsehoods firmly posed as fact

Still trouble me and need to be revised

To help me hold my mental health intact

But somehow I feel stronger in my soul

Perhaps I’m not as lost as first believed

More wounded needing healing to be whole

Than broken needing fixed – I feel relieved

No longer guilt-fed child who cannot cope

This careworn woman filled with future hope…

4 thoughts on “Who Am I?

  1. Sunny June 7, 2017 / 1:11 am

    Ruth, this is exquisite! You have such a gift, and so deeply descriptive.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sunny June 7, 2017 / 1:13 am

    Reblogged this on Shielagh and commented:
    This poem really touched me deeply. As a therapist who works with adults traumatized as children, this is a paean to the promise of recovery in adulthood. The poem itself is exquisitely written as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Margarita June 8, 2017 / 12:32 am

    “…filled with future hope.” I love that about you, Ruth. Wonderful! 😉 xoxoM

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

