Songs from the Past: Simon & Garfunkel – Sound of Silence

Amazingly we’re already at week 24 of Hugh’s fun series ‘51 Songs from the Past in 51 Weeks‘, and this week Hugh asked about a song listened to at a sad time in your life.

As someone who has certainly had my share of sad times over the years, I’ve always been soothed by Paul Simon & Art Garfunkel’s original version of  ‘The Sound of Silence’ from 1964.

I love the haunting beauty of the lyrics, the melody, the harmony, and the simple acoustic accompaniment – even today it still resonates profoundly with my sad old soul… ❤

‘Hello darkness, my old friend

I’ve come to talk with you again

Because a vision softly creeping

Left its seeds while I was sleeping

And the vision that was planted in my brain

Still remains

Within the sound of silence’

 

7 thoughts on “Songs from the Past: Simon & Garfunkel – Sound of Silence

  1. Sunny June 16, 2017 / 2:18 am

    I’ve always loved it, too, Ruth. My sadness then came from being a lonely young teenager riveted to songs on the radio for a conduit out of my room. I started writing poetry then as well. Did you?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth June 16, 2017 / 9:55 am

      Oh dear, I wrote some terrible poetry as a teenager – all anguish and angst 😉

      Like

      • Sunny June 16, 2017 / 12:45 pm

        Oh, I didn’t say it was good! But I discovered haiku as a form and began trying. That expression helped me a lot. In fact, journaling still works for me. I love your writing!

        Liked by 1 person

        • Ruth June 16, 2017 / 1:20 pm

          Thank you – I’ve been journalling since my teens, too – I hate to think how many forests-worth of paper I’ve accumulated over the years… 🙂

          Like

    • Ruth June 18, 2017 / 6:48 pm

      I still love it today – perhaps more than ever 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

