Daily Prompt: Relieved

I’ll be so relieved when this heatwave is over – I’m seriously not built for this level of hot weather. I’m Scottish, and from the North East coast at that, so I’m more used to relatively high percentages of precipitation pretty much all year round with the bracing North sea air keeping everything refreshingly… well… fresh

Still, stultifying, stuffy air and lukewarm water straight from the cold tap however long you run it for is not my idea of fun. It reached 33 degrees this afternoon and is expected to remain at around 23 degrees overnight tonight. I know many people across the world live in far hotter climates – but this is the UK, and we don’t routinely live with air conditioning in our homes so we really struggle when it’s hot like this.

Right now I’m feeling too hot in my clothes and too hot out of them – just too hot altogether, whatever I do. And I’m grumpy and out of sorts and cranky and fed up. And did I mention hot? At least when it’s cold, you can always layer on more clothes, but when it comes to stripping off, once you’re down to your skin you’re stuck – often literally stuck to your seat, yuk! πŸ™‚

Daily Prompt: Relieved

7 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Relieved

  1. Sunny June 20, 2017 / 1:00 am

    I’m sorry it’s so uncomfortable there! We have AC here in NE Pennsylvania but it’s been getting so chilly at night we’ve needed the heat more than once in the past few weeks.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Margarita June 20, 2017 / 1:53 am

    It’s hot and humid in NYC, too, Ruth, and we don’t live with air conditioning either. One thing that’s helpful is to hang a cold, wet bandana around your neck. It’s been a life-saver for me! πŸ˜‰ xoxoM

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Marie June 20, 2017 / 7:02 am

    Try ice cubes in your shoes. Just joking. πŸ™‚ But I thought a chuckle would help you cool off. Hot and sticky here in the Washington, DC area too. I hate air conditioning though so I go as long as I can without turning it on. It has been in the 30-36/37 range here for the last couple of weeks.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Ruth June 20, 2017 / 9:33 am

      Ice cubes in my bra might be better! My in-laws live in the Louisiana swamps where hot and humid is the norm, so ceiling fans and air conditioning are order of the day for them – I’m just way happier in cooler climes πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

