Share Your World: 19 June 2017

What is something people are obsessed with but you just don’t see the point of?

Package holidays – we Brits seem obsessed with taking annual package holidays somewhere hot and sunny, where the point is to lie on a foreign beach somewhere all day and then drink in a foreign bar all night for two weeks… I’ve never been on one, it simply doesn’t appeal to me…

What quirky things do people do where you are from?

We Brits always form ourselves into an ordely queue – we stand quietly in line and take our turn, but will fidget and tut and glare and comment loudly to our immediate queue neighbours when other people disregard the rules and don’t follow the accepted ettiquette of British queuing 🙂

What are some things you wish you could unlearn?

The one thing I wish I could unlearn from childhood, and am still trying to correct in myself even in grandparenthood, is the feeling that I’m not good enough. It has coloured my life in so many ways, and sadly I can see with hindsight it also has affected the way I’ve brought up my children, so I’m determined that my grandchildren will not be affected in the same way…

Who is someone that you miss having in your life?

I really miss my maternal grandmother – I was truly lucky to have had her in my life for so long as she was 92 when she died, and I was already a grandmother myself by then ❤

Cee’s Share Your World

 

 

4 thoughts on “Share Your World: 19 June 2017

  1. draliman June 20, 2017 / 8:12 am

    I don’t get the “sit on a beach doing nothing all day” thing either. My parents go on “package holidays”, but theirs are “senior citizen” things where they cruise around and go on day trips where the ship docks. That sounds much better 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Ruth June 20, 2017 / 9:35 am

      A cruise sounds fun, actually – I quite fancy the idea of a cruise around the Norweigian fjords with beautiful scenery all around 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Cee Neuner June 20, 2017 / 5:46 pm

    Me too….about the feeling that I’m not good enough. Thanks so much for sharing this week.

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

