What Makes a Blog ‘Real’?

Lately I’ve been having a bit of a crisis of confidence about my blog. Although to be fair I’m actually having a bit of a crisis of confidence about me, so as I’m feeling ‘not good enough’ and my blog is my online creative space, a virtual extension of me, then I suppose it stands to reason I’d question its authenticity too.

I worry that my blog has no real purpose. I’m neither a proper writer nor a photographer promoting my product; this isn’t a mummy blog or a foodie blog or a political blog. I’m just an ordinary menopausal middle-aged woman who dabbles in poetry now and again and posts a few fair-to-middling pictures when the muse strikes.

I neither share my blog across any other social media platforms nor have any affiliated links with anyone or anything, so one sense my blog is just as insular and introverted as I am. But in another sense I don’t like the growing feeling of unease that maybe me having my own blog is somehow slightly pretentious, a bit of a self-aggrandised vanity project and nothing more.

Does anyone else ever have doubts like this, or am I just plain weird? All advice and words of wisdom from all you ‘real’ bloggers out there will be all too gratefully received… šŸ™‚

 

 

 

 

37 thoughts on “What Makes a Blog ‘Real’?

  1. Relax... June 21, 2017 / 12:27 pm

    Your content is uplifting. If you’re enjoying your blogging, too, then it’s a win-win thing!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Ruth June 21, 2017 / 6:13 pm

      I think I enjoy it more when I don’t think too much about what and when I post things, but once I start thinking about what other people might like to read/ look at it all falls apart… so maybe the answer is to stop worrying about it altogether šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Bee Halton June 21, 2017 / 12:41 pm

    Hi Ruth, don’t worry! It is not important if you have a “grand” theme or topic for your blog or if you share your posts on social media unless you want to earn money with your blog. If you don’t want to earn money with it: do what you please and blog like no one’s reading ;-)!!!! It’s your creative space and you can fill it with whatever you want and whatever makes you happy. Just go for it :-)!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth June 21, 2017 / 6:17 pm

      Thanks, Bee – I suppose I need to remember that people blog for different reasons, and it’s ok whatever your reason šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • Bee Halton June 23, 2017 / 9:38 am

        Exactly šŸ™‚ just keep going and enjoy yourself!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Sue (Mac's Girl) June 21, 2017 / 1:35 pm

    Your posts are always interesting and I love the pictures. If you enjoy blogging, that’s great! And if other people enjoy what you post, that’s a bonus. Keep up the good work.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth June 21, 2017 / 6:21 pm

      Thanks Sue – I guess I just need to keep blogging along, and work through whatever is bothering me šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. roseelaineblog June 21, 2017 / 2:30 pm

    I love your blog, I enjoy the photographs and reading about how you think and feel. Your a real person, your honesty and emotions come through the words that you write. I recognise that you like me and a lot of other people on this site have come through difficult situations which is a massive achievement. I feel that your a brilliant mum and grandma too. Your blog is real Ruth just like you. šŸŒ¹

    Liked by 3 people

  5. Dan Antion June 21, 2017 / 2:38 pm

    No doubts from this corner, either about my blog or yours. My tagline is “random thoughts” which is a cute way of saying “I got nothing” but my goal has always been to somehow be entertaining.

    I find your blog to be entertaining, uplifting, curious, make-me-think-ish and fun to read. I think that’s adding value to my world, so I’d keep up the good work but not stress over it – never stress over it.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Ruth June 21, 2017 / 6:27 pm

      Thank you Dan, the reassurance is very much appreciated šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth June 21, 2017 / 6:28 pm

      Ha ha ha – when I figure it out, I promise I’ll write a blog post about it! šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  6. TanGental June 21, 2017 / 3:28 pm

    don’t over think it Ruth. While you enjoy it, while you connect just do it

    Liked by 2 people

    • Ruth June 21, 2017 / 6:31 pm

      Thanks Geoff – I must admit as much as I enjoyed the wonderful talks at the Bloggers’ Bash on making the best of your blog I think it’s left me feeling a bit of a bloggy fraud – but no doubt I’ll get over it soon enough! šŸ™‚

      Like

      • TanGental June 21, 2017 / 7:21 pm

        Oooo no that’s not the idea. Really. If you wanted to take your blog elsewhere these were some ideas but at root it is a vehicle to let you express whatever you want. That’s the beauty of it. Some Pepe climb Everest, others love a short stroll to the shops. Whatever floats your boat.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Ruth June 21, 2017 / 7:26 pm

          They were great ideas! Just not for me, it seems… šŸ™‚

          Liked by 1 person

  7. Margarita June 21, 2017 / 5:16 pm

    Your blog is a window on a world I wouldn’t otherwise see, Ruth. I love that life in London is not all that different than life in NYC, yet it is. Some days are better than others. I love your blog and I’m grateful you share with us.

    My blog meanders all over the place. I realize that it pleases me to share small, and sometimes large, things. Does it mean anything? It means a moment’s entertainment, or a pause for thought, or a shared nanosecond, for all who stop by. For me, that’s a treasure and enough. šŸ˜‰ xoxoM

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth June 21, 2017 / 6:35 pm

      Thanks Margarita – I like the idea of my blog being a window on my world, so I suppose people can either stop to look through it with me, or simply walk on by… šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Judy E Martin June 21, 2017 / 6:07 pm

    I like your blog Ruth!1 you write some wonderful poetry and take some gorgeous photos that really bring a smile to my face.
    I know what you mean though, as a couple of weeks ago, I struggled with the point of my blog. I did it to combat my depression and it grew and grew. although now it is so different, and just mainly haiku and a few other poems, not the funny anecdotes so much. I also realised especially recently that there are o many people who do what I do far better and that kind of hit me hard!
    I decided to carry on for now though as I love the interaction that I get with other bloggers. That means a whole lot to me šŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    • Ruth June 21, 2017 / 6:41 pm

      Thanks Judy! I also started blogging to combat depression – or at least give voice to it – but I’ve changed course (and blogs) a couple of times since then. And you’re so right about the interaction with other bloggers, I love it too. Maybe that’s the best way for me to measure how ‘real” my blog is – by the level of interaction! šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • Judy E Martin June 21, 2017 / 6:44 pm

        I think so! For people like us who are little shy and suffer with depression, it is the perfect way to interact with others even when we don’t feel like going out the door! šŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

        • Ruth June 21, 2017 / 6:59 pm

          Especially when we don’t feel like going out the door x

          Liked by 1 person

  9. trouvaillebycarol June 22, 2017 / 5:38 am

    Oh I am the same! It’s scary to put yourself out there. And I’m a pretty boring person, I always try to stay true and blog only the truth which is a bit dark as I’ve suffered from postnatal depression. But you’d be surprised, some people relate to it and you end up meeting some pretty cool people!

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Marie June 22, 2017 / 7:56 am

    I also enjoy your blog and I understand how you feel. I had intended my blog to be about retirement and my life in retirement. That lasted about a month, once I discovered that there was no point in talking about retirement once I was retired. šŸ™‚ It is a dull subject. I wanted to show what I do through my pictures instead of analyzing life. I think the most interesting blogs are the ones that reflect the blogger’s personality and journey. I agree that unless you have a goal to make money off your blog, go where the spirit moves you.

    Liked by 2 people

    • dawnkinster June 22, 2017 / 7:46 pm

      I did a quick visit of your blog, Marie. Pretty cool! Couldn’t find a place to comment on the post about the sculpture in the prairie, though it was very neat and I hope I get to visit there someday!

      Liked by 2 people

      • Marie June 23, 2017 / 6:29 am

        Thanks. Will check out the comment thing. I have been having trouble commenting on some posts as well.

        Liked by 1 person

  11. dawnkinster June 22, 2017 / 7:43 pm

    I periodically have the same insecurities. Mine started out as a blog about going back to college after age 50, going to grad school with a bunch of 20 somethings. Then once I graduated I thought maybe the blog should stop, but many people asked me not to, and I enjoyed having a place to put my thoughts, and now once in awhile, sometimes frequently, sometimes infrequently, I wonder what the point is. You’re right. Mine also is not a specific blog. Not always cooking. Not always truck safety. Not always Katie the dog. Not always travel. Not always memories. Not always photography. Not always anything in particular. But who says it has to be! If it’s an outlet for me that’s enough. I use it to mark my life, whatever that life is at the moment. And more than once I’ve gone back to figure out what I was thinking at a specific time, or where we were when, or who I was talking about what with. It’s a life journal and that’s important in it’s own right, whether or not anyone else ever reads it.

    But you, you obviously have people reading it, look at all the ‘likes’ and comments! šŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    • Ruth June 22, 2017 / 7:47 pm

      Thanks Dawn šŸ™‚

      Like

  12. Hugh's Views and News June 24, 2017 / 4:05 pm

    The most important thing about blogging is that it is fun. Once the fun goes out of it, then it’s either time for a change, or to try something else. Now, I know you like photography and have fun taking pictures. Then you share them on your blog which goes on to not only giving many other people enjoyment, but to inspire people as well. Don’t over think it. Just do what feels best for you and what you enjoy doing most of all. Let’s Keep Blogging Fun. šŸ˜€

    Liked by 2 people

  13. superwifeandmummy July 15, 2017 / 3:50 pm

    Hi. I am really not brazenly self promoting here, but if you have time or inclination, please pop in to my blog and read my 3 Foolproof Ways… post. It will resonate – I promise šŸ˜Š
    I think you’re a fab blogger šŸ˜Š

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

