London Stadium, Stratford, East London

London-Stadium

Looks pretty in the distance, doesn’t it? The London Stadium, previously known as the Olympic Stadium, looking deceptively calm and quiet. This was as close as I came to it earlier today, but I’d planned to come back from my walk along the River Lea from Stratford to Bow right past the foot of the stadium, a shortcut I take regularly.

However, I seriously miscalculated, because on my way back a few hours later I found the tow-path blocked off – in fact, the entire stadium was cordoned off due to a Robbie Wiiliams concert being held there tonight. So not only did I have to take a thoroughly inconvenient detour the long way round, but also I found myself in a contraflow of one, walking in the opposite direction of 70000 excited Robbie fans looking forward to the show.

Oh well, c’est la vie! To be honest it was really good to see security so tight around such a major venue, with no traffic allowed within a surprisingly wide cordon. And from the heavy bass beat thudding in the distance as I write, it sounds like it’s all going really well… 🙂

Let me know what you think...

