Daily Prompt: Snack

snack-lunch

Today’s nibbly snack-based lunch… smoked ham, chorizo, cheese, olives, and tomato with ground black pepper πŸ™‚

I’m trying hard just now to make a conscious effort to make healthier food choices, especially as I’m not only an emotional eater but also one of life’s natural grazers, so I have to be really careful not just to be cramming in a constant conveyor-belt of high fat and sugar options without really thinking about it.

The thing is, I do love lots of different foods, not just sweet stuff and deep-fried stuff, so I’m trying hard to move my focus from indulging my emotional needs to tempting my tastebuds with alternative flavours and textures to enjoy. I need to break some pretty long-standing overeating habits though, so it’s not going to be easy.

My middle-aged spread is making itself far too much at home for my liking, especially now I’ve hit menopause – I don’t want to resign myself to being fat and unfit for life just because I’m in my mid-fifties. So I’m just taking it all one day at a time for now, and I’ll see how it goes…Β  πŸ™‚

Daily Prompt: Snack

 

9 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Snack

  1. wakinguponthewrongsideof50 June 30, 2017 / 7:32 pm

    I’m all for eating healthy and exercising….but really….what good is it living to a ripe old age if you can’t indulge every now and then….

    Liked by 2 people

    • Ruth June 30, 2017 / 11:44 pm

      It’s getting the balance right I struggle with πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Margarita June 30, 2017 / 10:59 pm

    It is a challenge when one enjoys food…as I do. That plate looks delicious! πŸ˜‰ xoxoM

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Belinda July 5, 2017 / 6:05 am

    This is making me hungry just looking at it! I love food so much and that’s why I never exclude anything from my diet I just eat things in moderation. Just to make my cravings subside it usually works. For example if I want to eat ice cream I would just eat a couple spoonfuls and that would usually suffice. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth July 5, 2017 / 11:25 am

      Sadlymy problem is that I don’t stop eating after a couple of spoonsful… 😦

      Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

