Daily Prompt: Bumble

42mm-f8-142mm-f8-242mm-f8-342mm-f8-4

The thing with playing about with amateur photography is it’s very much a game of trial and error for me.

I tend to find myself wanting to learn a particular technique, and I’ll practice and practice until I work it out, and then I’ll pretty much do it to death for the next while. I really love using fast prime lenses, but recently I’m becoming dissatisfied with everything I photograph somehow looking and feeling exactly the same, and so I want to learn different ways of doing the kind of stuff I love to do best, and also learn some new skills, too.

It’s all too easy to become complacent, and blame the limitations of my rather humble equipment for my increasingly boring, same-old-story technically-similar images. But really, deep down I know that a good photographer can take stunning images with even the simplest of cameras, and a poor photographer can take decidedly mediocre images with the most hi-tech equipment on the planet. Basically, I know it’s a poor workman that blames his tools.

So here I am bumbling about like a beginner with my basic 14-42 f3.5-5.6 Micro Four Thirds kit lens (28-84 in 35mm equivalence) on my pretty basic Panasonic Lumix GF6, exploring it all properly for the first time. I’m learning that by using the kit lens at the narrowest focal length (short telephoto) on a subject relatively close-up, even on f8 I can still create a reasonably pleasing shallow depth of field effect, but with a slightly different compact feel to the final image than when taken with a wide-open prime.

But what matters most for me is suddenly I’m having fun again – seeing the world through a different lens, a surprisingly versatile lens as long as I don’t try to make it into something it’s not, is giving me a much-needed fresh perspective on my photography… so I’m just going to bumble about a bit more and see what I come up with – watch this space! πŸ™‚

Daily Prompt: Bumble

 

 

8 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Bumble

  1. I enjoyed this very much. A look at our inner dissatisfaction can be illuminating. You obviously enjoy setting challenges and goals for yourself. Awesome stuff. I love you photos. They have depth and character and beckon one to see more. Doesn’t get better than that! Whatever style or equipment you chose to use πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awww thank you! I have a vision in my head of what I’d like to see in each image I take, but don’t always succeed – but I do keep trying! πŸ™‚

      Like

      • That’s the important thing. Keep on, keeping on as they say. I know the vision in your head thing…sometimes it’s difficult for the reality to equate with the vision. I definitely know that one well enough :):) Much like any other artist with brush to canvas who can’t quite reach the goal the picture in their mind’s eye…it can be frustrating…

        Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

