Daily Prompt: Tailor

Beatrix Potter features heavily in my memories of childhood – I loved not only her stories but also the delicate watercolour illustrations sitting alongside the words on each page. The little hardback books I remember so fondly still sit in the bookcase of children’s books at my parents house, grubby and worn but oh-so-well-loved through the generations in our family. The Tailor of Gloucester, Peter Rabbit, Benjamin Bunny and the Flopsy Bunnies were always my favourites – for  some reason Mrs Tiggywinkle and Squirrel Nutkin just didn’t resonate with me in the same way… 🙂

Daily Prompt: Tailor

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Tailor

  1. Sunny July 18, 2017 / 12:40 pm

    Oh, you’ve given me such a lovely conduit to my own memories of Beatrix Potter’s books! I had The Tale of Peter Rabbit, The Tale of the Flopsy Bunnies, The Tale of Mrs. TIggywinkle, The Tale of Jemima Puddleduck, and The Tale of Two Bad Mice (my favorite). When I was a young adult, my mother gave me a porcelain figurine of the mama mouse with a bassinet filled with baby mice, all tucked in under a blanket. I have a framed illustration of that image now in the house here that I found in an antique mall. I suppose my parents got rid of the books, and the figurine got lost along the way in many moves in adulthood. Thank you, Ruth!

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

