My Favourite Longfellow Poem

books

While enjoying a drink in our local pub, I was perusing the bookshelf in the booth where we were sitting, and saw a copy of ‘The Poetical Works of Longfellow with Explanatory Notes &c’. So I took it down to have a closer look…

LongfellowThere was a name and date handwritten in ink on the flyleaf – Mary Woodthorpe, July 15th 1883, so it’s rather an old edition.

Anyway, although (in my humble opinion) much of his work is pretty longwinded, I searched for my favourite Longfellow poem – from Birds of Passage, Flight the Third, ‘Song’… and here it is! Made my day! 🙂

Song

Let me know what you think...

