One Liner Wednesday: It’s not what you have, but what you do with it that counts…

When it comes to photography, I need to remember it’s not what you have, but what you do with it that counts…

My husband recently bought himself a new camera for his birthday, and I have to admit it is absolutely perfect for him. It’s a Fuji XT2 body complete with all the manual buttons and dials you could ever wish for, and he’s acquired three great prime lenses to use with it – a wide angle, a standard, and a portrait lens. With its 24MP APSC sensor coupled with fast prime lenses it takes absolutely stunning shots, and suddenly my little old 16MP M4/3 Panasonic GF6 looks decidedly pathetic by comparison.

So I started to think maybe I want to upgrade to an APSC sensor camera too, but then I remind myself that twice in the last seven years I’ve owned an APSC sensor DSLR kit – one Olympus, and one Nikon – and twice I’ve sold them on without a second glance. Not because of the quality of the final images, which I loved, but for the sheer size and weight of the damned things! Those images I did take with my DSLRs were beautiful, but I’m more concerned with those I didn’t take because all too often I left the far-too-bulky-for-me camera kit at home in a box.

I need to remember that I deliberately chose a Micro Four Thirds system because of its relatively small size – for the portability of it all. Not only the camera bodies, but also the lenses – as a general rule you tend to find the larger the sensor, the bulkier the optics. And beyond that, I chose Panasonic over Olympus simply because intuitively their particular camera layout and function suits me better – a purely personal preference. I’ve gone through a few different lenses, too, trying to find what works best for me, and I’m still exploring my options there on an ongoing basis.

I’m not at all a technically-driven kind of photographer – I tend to explore something new simply because I’m frustrated with not achieving whatever particular creative result I desire with what I already have or know. So I suppose my technical knowledge is driven by artistic need rather than scientific interest, definitely built up over time on a need-to-know basis. For example one niggly little thing frustrating me at the moment is not being able to focus closely enough on something – so that tells me it’s time to investigate acquiring a basic macro lens.

And I want to learn more about post-processing images too; digital darkroom stuff, because my knowledge there is minimal – I stick mainly converting to B&W, cropping, and straightening wonky horizons. But I want to learn to play about with applying filters and different effects, have a bit of creative fun with image manipulation software. So rather than yearning for bigger and better camera equipment my focus for now needs to be on learning to make the most of the perfect-for-me system I already own – because after all it’s not what you have, but what you do with it that counts… 🙂

One Liner Wednesday

 

10 thoughts on “One Liner Wednesday: It’s not what you have, but what you do with it that counts…

  1. They say that the best camera is the one you have with you. I have an older Olympus DSLR. I injured my shoulder several years ago and I literally couldn’t carry it. I switched to a point and shoot that I can slip into my pocket. I take tons more photos (some worth sharing) now, than ever before. Sometimes, I wish I had a better camera again, but mostly, I am very happy with the camera I actually take with me.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I couldn’t agree with you more. I have an aim and shoot that is almost as good as any DSLR. It’s a Canon Powershot SX60HS. It has a 65x optical zoom so is fantastic for bird photography. I never leave home without it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Phone cameras are getting so good. I lug my Cannon around and then the shots my husband takes with his phone are as good or better. Not always, but often. I agree I want to explore playing with images after…I don’t know anything about filters and layers and stuff, but I see other people’s end results and think that I’d like to learn more. And a macro lens? That would be cool too, though I’ve found it harder and harder to get down on the ground to do that kind of work. Well not hard to get DOWN, but definitely harder to get back up after.

    Liked by 2 people

Let me know what you think...

