Daily Prompt: Tea

Being a Brit through and through I absolutely love nothing better than a good cup of tea. I like it made traditionally with loose leaf in a teapot and served through a tea strainer into a proper cup, or made simply with a self-sufficient tea-bag in a standard mug – I’m really not fussy. But it definitely has to be brewed properly, however it’s made, and I like to drink it with a little milk but no sugar.

I really like blended black teas, but I don’t particularly have a favourite brand – I’ll drink Tetley, Typhoo, PG Tips, or most other generic supermarket brands just as long as they taste of tea. And as well as my daily dose of strong black tea, on occasion I also quite like the fragrant bergamot flavour in Earl Grey tea – I take that with just a splash of milk, too.

And sometimes I drink refreshing herbal infusions (not real tea!) – in particular I like zingy peppermint or lemon and ginger, the soft subtleness of chamomile, and the delicately-brewed floral jasmine tea you get in our local Chinese restaurant (but definitely with no milk in any of these).

I drink strong but milky coffee too at times – mine’s a frothy cafe latte incase you’re wondering – but somehow there’s nothing quite like a nice cup of tea to refresh me, comfort me, warm me up, or just help keep me going when all else around me feels like it’s falling apart… ❤

Daily Prompt: Tea

 

5 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Tea

  1. Fintan July 26, 2017 / 8:58 pm

    I myself need at least three cups of tea to get me going each morning. By the third, I’m just about awake. Like you, I take it with a splash of milk, never with sugar. Being from Ireland, I feel obliged to recommend our most popular cuppa…. Barry’s Tea. Have you tried it? It somehow manages to walk that fine line between not too strong and not too weak…..

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth July 26, 2017 / 9:10 pm

      Ooh, I’ve never heard of Barry’s Tea – but when I go home to the North of Scotland I like to drink Scottish Blend tea – it’s perfect with the soft peaty water up there. Whereas here in London we have very hard limescale-infused water, which isn’t so nice to taste 🙂

      Like

      • Fintan July 26, 2017 / 9:20 pm

        Ah, you’re in for a treat with Barry’s Tea! You should find it in some of the major supermarkets in the curiously named ‘Irish food’ section which normally contains nothing more than several varieties of Cadbury’s which you can’t find in the UK 🙂 I’ve not tried Scottish Blend myself. Can you find it here in London?

        Liked by 1 person

        • Ruth July 26, 2017 / 10:07 pm

          To be honest I’ve never bothered to look – I took some back with me once after a trip home, but it tasted absolutely awful with the hard water 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  2. authensible1357 July 27, 2017 / 12:16 am

    I like my tea with milk, sugar or honey and ginger. Best properly boiled too with loose tea leaves and fresh ginger (ground ginger is a good subsitute). I also favor herb teas too.

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

