Songs from the Past: Advertising

I’ve not been feeling very musical lately, life has been hitting a bit of a flat note recently so I’ve missed the last few weeks of joining in with Hugh’s series of posts ‘51 Songs from the Past in 51 weeks‘. However, today’s theme of old songs used in new-ish adverts immediately conjured up Cadbury’s 2007 drum-playing gorilla putting his heart and soul into Phil Collins’ 1981 hit ‘In the Air Tonight’ – I’ve always been partial to a bit of Phil Collins even from his Genesis days, so here’s both an actual and extended version of the 2007 ad  🙂

PS I just love the way he cricks his neck from side to side before beginning! 🙂

 

13 thoughts on “Songs from the Past: Advertising

    • It’s funny how ads stick in our minds for years after, isn’t it? Someone at work the other day was singing ‘Everyone’s a Fruit and Nut-case’ all day, and that one was from decades ago! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • It was Frank Murr who sang the song to that commercial. He was also on ‘Call My Bluff.’ Certain ads always stay with us. I always remember the OXO family, and then there was Nanette Newman with her soft washing up hands. “Mummy, Why Are Your Hands So Soft?” When I asked my mother that question, she answered: “so it won’t hurt so much, when you’ve been naughty, and I slap your legs.” 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Wow. New commercial for me. Cadbury not a big advertiser in the US. I love this commercial, yet it makes me sad because the gorrilla probably went back to an enclosure after it was over.

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

