Daydreaming and Doodling

Do other people still doodle these days, or is it just me?

Most of my (brown-paper covered) secondary school note-books were endlessly doodled on during class – in the days of old-fashioned paper and pen, where we wrote out all our lessons and exercises in longhand, my pen would usually be doodling endless flowers and hearts and sometimes geometric shapes (and always a thousand variations on the lettering of my name) as I listened and learned.

At home I’d often be doodling too, especially through my teenage years while on the single solitary house-phone to my school friends after school. Anchored to the spot as we were with our clunky wired-into-the-telephone receiver on our even clunkier wired-into-the-wall-socket fixed-point telephone, the ubiquitous ‘telephone messages’ pad and accompanying ball-point pen would often be put to flamboyant artistic use.

And even today when I’m daydreaming, whether thinking of something or nothing I’ve usually got a pen and paper close by – supposedly for jotting down thoughts but just as practical for doodling on if the mood strikes. It’s all part of the same creative thought process for me. I find I still tend to stick to basic designs with hearts and flowers, and multiple variations on my name, so I guess nothing much has changed in the last 40 years!

Anyway, as I’ve been enjoying colouring-in a lot lately, I had the idea today to basically doodle myself an outline on a slightly grander (and neater) scale on a page of A4 paper using a black Sharpie, effectively creating my own blank template for colouring in – so here is my rather fanciful flower design, before and after colouring in. What fun, think I might try that again, but will try to cover the whole page next time… Or maybe I could just add more to this one, and see how it turns out? šŸ™‚

doodle-blankdoodle-coloured

 

 

7 thoughts on “Daydreaming and Doodling

Let me know what you think...

