Thursday Doors: Westminster Cathedral

westminster-cathedral-1westminster-cathedral-2westminster-cathedral-3

westminster-cathedral-4westminster-cathedral-5

I took these external pics of Westminster Cathedral in London’s Victoria on my way to and from this year’s Annual Blogger’s Bash in June, and meant to post them earlier but seem to have missed the boat somewhat with my timings. Still, better late than never! To be honest I didn’t even know this cathedral existed until it turned up as a landmark on Geoff’s directions to the Bash venue nearby, and from what I could see in passing the heavy rectangular wooden doors are probably the plainest part of the building.

I looked it up once I got home and discovered that the foundation stone was laid in 1895 and the fabric of the building was completed eight years later, and although according to the website the interior is incomplete the cathedral still contains some fine marble work and mosaics. Apparently there’s also a public viewing gallery from the top of the 210ft (64m) tower, so I think overall Westminster Cathedral is certainly somewhere I’ll be visiting properly sometime in the future…

For more door-oriented posts please see Norm’s Thursday Doors post for this week and click on the blue frog 🙂

 

3 thoughts on “Thursday Doors: Westminster Cathedral

Let me know what you think...

