Drawing not Doodling

Having gone from enjoying colouring-in pre-printed drawings recently to colouring-in my own doodle design the other day, I decided to go one step further today and try to draw and colour a real flower from a real photograph taken by me. I did temporarily study art at school a long time ago, and although my work was never brilliant it was certainly passable.

However, I was 17 when I left school, and I’m now 53, so safe to say I expect my skills to be more than a little rusty nowadays. I’ve done a couple of basic pencil-sketch drawings since, but even that was several years ago. I do like a challenge though, and I’m a big girl now so surely I can cope with being even less brilliant than I used to be at school when I was drawing all the time.

So I chose my flower image from my archive, kept it in front of me on screen, and picked up my drawing pad…

draw-rose

I started tentatively with an outline – I remembered as soon as I started that drawing what you see in front of you instead of what you know isn’t easy – but in the end I did it without too much re-drawing…

draw-1

Colouring-in can be a bit tricky too – it’s pink rose, but as well as pink I’m seeing red and orange and pale purple on screen…

draw-2

OK, I think I’ve had enough for today – I can see I’ve not put in enough shading in the right places to make it look three dimensional enough – it’s a bit ‘flat’ – and my colours are a bit off, but you know what? I’m reasonably pleased with my first attempt at a ‘real’ drawing in years. My drawing skills might not shine yet but perhaps I can detect a little shimmer of potential for the future, if I keep going with it.

After all, everyone has to start somewhere… πŸ™‚

draw-3

DailyPrompt: Shimmer

 

18 thoughts on “Drawing not Doodling

  1. I think this turned out pretty neat! I am also returning to my old school hobby of painting (20yrs ago) and they look like something a 6yr old would do. “Draw what you see and not wjat you know” was something tjat has always stuck to me and I’ve failled to apply it to every still life ive drawn.

    You give me hope! Keep going…

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

