Today’s Flower Drawing

rosebud

I decided to try to draw a different flower image today, again using coloured pencils, but I took a slightly different tack from yesterday’s attempt. I still started out with a simple line drawing outline, but then I shaded in the whole flower, to give a kind of colour base to build up layer by layer as a complete picture instead of trying to colour it in section by section as I did yesterday…

draw-4draw-5draw-6

I found the whole exercise a bit easier today, I’m still feeling decidedly rusty when it comes to drawing but it all flowed a bit better doing it this way and I think the overall result is a bit more balanced, so that’s an improvement πŸ™‚

PS I seem to have something on my lens, as there’s a little smudge on the bottom left-hand corner of each image, but I’ve only just noticedΒ  it…

PPS I hope it is the lens, and not the sensor?

14 thoughts on “Today’s Flower Drawing

    • Ruth August 7, 2017 / 8:16 pm

      Once I get the hang of it all again I think I’m really going to enjoy becoming engrossed in my artistic endeavours – it’s certainly taken me long enough to try to pick it up again πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Timelesslady August 7, 2017 / 7:03 pm

    Very pretty…inspires me to try and do more with the colored pencils I have and let sit without using.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth August 7, 2017 / 8:18 pm

      Well mine had been sitting around for years before I picked them up again – and at least coloured pencils don’t dry out or spoil when not used regularly πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sunny August 8, 2017 / 2:00 am

    Thanks for letting us in on your process, and for sharing the stages of the work!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Norma August 9, 2017 / 5:56 pm

    That’s very nice, both the drawing as well as the photo. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

