Writing Bravely: A Day in My Life

Inspired by Damyanti’s post on the Daily (W)rite I thought I’d share a day in my life just now, with the idea of writing bravely however much it hurts to admit to…

A Day in My Life…

Life does not come easy to me right now. I’m doing my best to struggle through my myopic misery by dealing with it all the best way I know how – I deliberately reduce what’s required of me with regard to daily tasks to the barest minimum for survival, and forcibly push my creativity to balance out the myriad greyness of it all with whatever miniscule splashes of the brightest ribbons of colour I can find.

I make sure we have food and clean clothes and a reasonably presentable home; I put on my public mask and go to work with a smile; I cry a lot in private. And I make myself take photographs, write poetry, crochet, draw – I keep my blog going and hope, know, deep in my soul that however low it gets this particular dismal trough in the constant parabola of life’s ups and downs won’t last forever – they never do. Always, in time, I know that this too shall pass.

It never ceases to amaze me that in one sense I am at my most creative when mired in the unfathomable depths of despair – it’s as if I cling on to life’s fragile beauty in the only way I know how, by holding on to the hope that exists in giving life to images and words, if not drawing myself upwards out of depression then at least stopping myself from drowning in it. I feel the oppressive weight bearing down, the dense pressure crushing my chest, but as always I focus on my brightest hope and just breathe through it all as best I can… ❤

11 thoughts on “Writing Bravely: A Day in My Life

Let me know what you think...

