Hatches, Matches, and Dispatches

Just a post about a random thought that seemingly came out of nowhere this morning… 🙂

When I was growing up, we had two newspapers delivered to our house – one regional paper that was printed daily, and one local paper that only came out twice a week. I remember my mum and dad regularly checking the Hatches, Matches, and Dispatches page (otherwise known as Birth, Marriage, and Death announcements) in both newspapers to see who had arrived, got hitched or shuffled off their mortal coil since the last deadline for a print run.

Personally I’m not a great newspaper fan these days; what with internet and 24 hour news channels for ‘big’ news items being reported live I find there’s really no need for me to read it all again in print the following day. And when it comes to replacing the old ‘personal’ columns, I simply check FaceBook to see who’s been up to what – status updates tend to be far more immediate, far more informal, and often include photographs too. We can let the world of our aquaintance know about all our special occasions, anniversaries, and memorials off the cuff  and on the hoof, thanks to our smartphones.

Hmmm… I don’t even know if people even make such announcements in newspapers any more – I suppose I’ll have to wait until I next visit my parents so I can read their local paper to find out… 🙂

8 thoughts on “Hatches, Matches, and Dispatches

  1. Interesting observations. Got me thinking. We took 2 papers, the Santa Monica Evening Outlook, delivered everyday but Sunday, and the Los Angeles Times, which had a fat Sunday paper with advertising circulars (my dad called them “rotogravures”) and the color funnies, my favorite section as a kid in the ’50s and ’60s. I just checked, and the Evening Outlook published between 1929 and 1986. Of course the Times is still in circulation. Our local paper here in NE Pennsylvania, the Pocono Record, has a digital version that I read most days, and they do have obituaries which I sometime scan. I’ve avoided joining Facebook so far. Great post, Ruth!

    Liked by 1 person

    • They were always known as ‘hatches, matches and dispatches’ in my family – I didn’t know any different until I was old enough to read the real headings for myself! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah, all very well Ruth. I gave up newspapers about 2 years ago now. Facebook (and WordPress) are great for keeping up with events but what happens when someone dies who has no relatives/friends on social media, or with a blog. I’ve never yet seen a post which says “I died last Thursday. It sucks!”

    I did, however, promise a fellow blogger that I would post such a comment after I die. I’m still working on the technology! I suppose I could schedule such a post for 6 months hence and hope that I remember to change the timing if I’m still around.

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

