Daily Prompt: Organise

I’m actually quite an organised person, in an abstract kind of way. I’m sometimes considered a bit untidy and laissez-faire by some standards, but I generally know where all my stuff is and can usually locate it (whatever ‘it’ is!) pretty quickly, without any difficulty.

My personal filing system consists of a series of multicoloured plastic folders held upright in a plastic filing tub or two. They’re not filed alphabetically but organically, in order of logical accessibility, and with those I use most often to the front. For example I file my leftover Euros and US dollars with my passport, until the next time I need them. But my passport also lives in the same file as my birth certificate, National Insurance card, and National Health card, right at the back.

I know some people who keep everything lined up leaf by leaf in single file with almost military precision from A-Z (without deviation) in a traditional filing cabinet, and I have great respect for such uber-organisation but that level of regimentation is just not for me. To be honest I don’t think it really matters how we choose to file all our important papers, as long as we have a system that (a) works, and (b) works for us – after all, it’s our stuff!

Because I also know other people who may appear neat-freak organised on the surface because everything in their home looks neat and tidy externally, but open their carefully closed drawers or cupboards and myriad papers of all shapes and sizes are just crammed in hap-hazard all over the place in no apparent order – but to me that’s neither tidy nor organised, that’s just creating a burying-your-head-in-the-sand facade that fools no-one, least of all yourself… 🙂

Daily Prompt: Organise

 

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Organise

  1. Fandango August 12, 2017 / 9:54 pm

    Those who stuff their stuff into drawers and cabinets and close the drawers and doors, follow the mantra of “out of sight, out of mind.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth August 12, 2017 / 10:34 pm

      And for those I know personally who have subscribed to that particular mantra, it seems it always comes back to bite them in the bum…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sunny August 13, 2017 / 2:21 am

    I’m like you, Ruth, aside from client files which are alphabetical in the filing cabinet!

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

