Daily Prompt: Jiffy

Random disjointed thoughts from me today for today’s Daily Prompt word…

For some inexplicable reason it made me think first of an old ad for Jiffy condoms that ran with the not-so-subtle play-on-words strapline, ‘Real men come in a Jiffy’. And then going off on a bit of a tangent I also thought immediately afterwards of the way some men (well around here, anyway) have in the past referred to their infertile friends as being a bit of a ‘Jaffa’ – as in a seedless Jaffa orange…

OK, I’m definitely stopping there before my tangental brain takes me any further off-track! 🙂

5 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Jiffy

  1. Fandango August 13, 2017 / 4:37 pm

    “Real men come in a Jiffy”? First, I’ve never hear of that brand of condom. Second, I don’t think that tag line would prompt me to buy one. And finally, how would someone know if a man is infertile? Maybe he just wears a Jiffy every time!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth August 13, 2017 / 6:15 pm

      One of the crazy aspects of working in a pub is that you overhear all sorts… as alcohol intake increases, inhibitions disappear, voices get louder, and pub staff become invisible to drinkers as ‘private’ conversations happen in very public places! It’s perfectly possible the condom ad strapline I remember so well may just be a much-repeated joke, but the brand was absolutely genuine! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sunny August 13, 2017 / 5:16 pm

    What fun! The US ad people have been such prudes. Lately they’ve gotten more daring, but nothing as frank as the one you mentioned!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth August 13, 2017 / 6:35 pm

      I tried to look it up online, but all I can find is that Jiffy condoms stopped being made in the UK in 1998 – I was beginning to wonder if I’d imagined the slogan but have found reference to it as relating to the rather puerile adverts of the 1980s, so that’s a relief! 🙂

      Like

Let me know what you think...

