Playing about with f-stops

I stuck my camera on my mini tripod this enjoyably lazy Sunday morning and played about with shooting close-up with different f-stops – these images were taken at f2, f4, f8 and f16 respectively…

f2-flowerf4-flowerf8-flowerf16-flower

Personally I find the f16 a bit too flat, and the f2 a bit too fuzzy – but for focusing specifically on these close-up flower heads with this particular lens, I find between f4 and f8 gives the best result for me.

But when I try to capture more of the bunch in focus, I find between f8 and f16 looks best…

f8-flowersf16-flowers

I like to play about like this, experimenting with taking multiple images that really don’t matter – the idea being that when I find myself in a situation where I need to know what works best for a particular subject, I don’t have to mess about wasting time fiddling about too much with settings and risking mistakes when it matters most 🙂

4 thoughts on “Playing about with f-stops

  1. I LIKED the f2, but agree that the f4 (for me anyway) is the best for a closeup of the front flowers. I have the hardest time remembering how fstops work. This is probably a good test to do myself, and then keep the results on hand to remember that the larger the fstop #, the more area is in focus. You’d think I would be able to keep that straight.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s back-to-front thinking to me, and it took ages to get used to because counter-intuitively the smaller the f-stop number the wider open the aperture and the narrower the resulting depth of field (which is the area of the image in sharp focus) 🙂

      Like

      • Actually, your way of thinking about it probably makes far more sense – the larger the f-stop the greater the area in focus – trust me to make it more convoluted than necessary! 🙂

        Like

  2. I love that you posted this! I am still trying to learn all the bells and whistles on my camera. Reading about it can be a bit overwhelming, but seeing it in a post, it makes it easier to sink in. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

