Daily Prompt: Educate

Luckily I’ve done quite well when it comes to formal education – not like I’m an academic genius or anything, just that I’ve done OK over my lifetime to date.

I was one of those kids who loved school – thankfully academic learning came easily to me, and I still really love knowing stuff I didn’t know before. Altogether I passed eight subjects at Ordinary Grade, three at Higher Grade, and gained one Certificate of Sixth Year Studies. But after I left school instead of continuing with my studies as expected I got a job, got engaged, got married, had three babies in a row, and then I got divorced.

By the time my kids were hitting double digits, I went to college for a year to complete a pre-nursing healthcare qualification, and again I did well – in fact, I received that year’s class prize for finishing top of the class. I decided not to go ahead with studying for a nursing qualification at that time, because as a single parent the hospital placements would have been difficult for me, but planned to bide my time and pick it up later…

Yet by the time my children had all left school I had a change of heart and applied instead to study as a mature student for a Bachelor of Arts degree in Psychosocial Studies – a cross-disciplinary blend of Psychology and Sociology – which I really enjoyed, graduating at 40 after three years full time study with a First Class Honours Degree.

Several years later I began a part time Master’s programme while also working full time, but after completing only a third of the course I withdrew, although thankfully I’d still completed enough of the course to earn myself a Post Graduate Certificate in Applied Positive Psychology.

And what do I do with all these numerous educational qualifications? Er… I currently work part time in a pub, earning minimum wage… Of all my lifetime’s learning, the two most important lessons I’ve learned are (1) that at the end of the day people matter far more than things, and (2) that as long as you have enough to cover the basics with a bit left over, there’s far more to life than money… πŸ™‚

Daily Prompt: Educate

8 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Educate

  1. Fandango September 5, 2017 / 12:36 am

    I have a kind of off-the-Wall question for you. I like your theme. Can you educate me as to which theme you’re using for your blog. I’ve been thinking of making a change. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth September 5, 2017 / 8:45 am

      This one is a free theme called ‘Plane’ – I kept the default colour settings but added my own header pic – think I might be keeping this theme, so far I really like it! Might try experimenting with a few different header images though πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. roseelaineblog September 6, 2017 / 5:12 pm

    I knew you were a bright spark! I believe you could make a career out of selling your photographs and be very successful too 🌹

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ruth September 6, 2017 / 5:15 pm

      Thanks Elaine, but they’re not that good! And to be honest it would spoil the fun for me πŸ™‚ x

      Liked by 1 person

      • roseelaineblog September 6, 2017 / 5:17 pm

        Really! I think they are brilliant πŸ‘ but I wouldn’t want it to stop being fun for you 😊

        Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think...

